Sunday, December 15, 2013

MALAYSIA:::MTUC polls shouldn't see contests, says ex-chief

KUALA LUMPUR: The Malaysian Trades Union Congress (MTUC) polls that will take place on Dec 22 should not see contests between its leaders, said its former president, Tan Sri Zainal Rampak.

He advised MTUC leaders to focus their resources on rebuilding the organisation and ensuring it remained a central voice in championing workers' rights in the country.
"I've suggested that MTUC appoint a 'unity team' that can spearhead progress, as now is not the time to be fighting each other. But, they didn't listen," he said yesterday.
Zainal, who served as MTUC president from 1986 to 2005, claimed that the congress was losing its relevance and urged its leaders to return to the original policy of fighting for workers' rights.
"Nowadays, non-governmental organisations are taking over MTUC's role. It no longer has the impact it used to have, where workers' representation is concerned."
He called on delegates to think rationally in electing individuals who could champion their cause and take MTUC to greater heights.
"There should be no camps among the delegates. They must think for themselves and pick those who can listen to them. Do not blindly agree with your group's choice of candidate," said Zainal, who is currently Transport Workers' Union president.
He warned MTUC leaders to be apolitical in matters concerning the interests of the congress.
"They can belong to any political party, but when in MTUC, they must wear only one jacket: the MTUC jacket."
For the first time since its inception in 1949, MTUC will see contests for all its main posts this year.
For the president's post, incumbent Mohd Khalid Atan will be up against secretary-general Abdul Halim Mansor.
Incumbent Mohd Jafar Abd Majid will face a three-way battle with Railwaymen Union of Malaya president Abdul Razak Md Hassan and Abdullah Sani Abdul Hamid from Club Employees Union for the post of deputy president.
About 555 delegates from 129 unions are expected to elect the MTUC office-bearers for the 2013-2016 triennial at the two-day delegates conference.

No comments:

Post a Comment